Creating Groups

Groups Tool Overview

The Groups tool provides you with the opportunity to put your students into groups. You can create group work areas for users with the Groups tool. You can use groups to organize users’ work on projects and assignments, or you can create special work areas for users with different learning needs.

Video - Groups Tool Overview

If you do not see the video, please click on the link to view it in a new window or tab: 
Groups Tool Overview

Things to Consider

Before setting up groups you should know how you want to organize them. A number of things can affect how users enrol in groups, including:

  • Setting groups up before or after you enrolled users.
  • Enabling auto-enrolment in groups.
  • Enabling randomization of users in groups.
  • Enabling self-enrolment in groups.
  • The enrolment Type you choose.

 In order for users to enrol in groups automatically, "Auto-Enrol New Users" must be enabled.

In most cases it is better to set up groups after the majority of users enrol in your course. This gives you a better idea of how many users you are organizing and how many groups you need. Setting up groups after enrolment can also ensure better distribution of users between groups.

The Enrol Users Page

Users are enrolled in groups based on the enrolment options selected on the New Category page. Use the Enrol Users page to:

  • Manually enrol users in groups if you selected # of Groups – No Auto enrolments.
  • Manually change which group a user is enrolled in.
  • Add users who enrolled late to a group if Auto-Enrol New Users is not selected.
  • Search for users who have not been assigned to a group.

What Happens When You Move to a New User Group

Discussion posts remain in the old group and do not count toward a user’s grade if the forum or topic is associated with a grade item. The user must satisfy the discussion post requirements in the new section. You can override a grade using the Grades tool.

Assignments submitted with the old group remain with the old group. The user receives the grade achieved by the new group on any group Assignment folders. You can change the user’s grade back to the original group’s mark in Grades.

Video - Creating Groups in VIULearn

If you do not see the video, please click on the link to view it in a new window or tab:
Creating Groups in VIULearn

Creating Group Discussion and Assignment Submission Folders

When you build groups you can also create private workspaces for each group. This is the preferred method for creating workspaces for your group. These private spaces allow for communications and collaboration.

If you do not see the video, please click on the link to view it in a new window or tab:
Creating Group Workspaces in VIULearn

Creating Private Journals in VIULearn

This video will provide additional instructions on creating private journals. Often instructors want to create Private Journals or Personal Learning Reflection Discussion Areas. This can be done through the use of groups.

If you do not see the video, please click on the link to view it in a new window or tab:
Creating Private Journals in VIULearn

MENU
CLOSE X CIEL