Managing Groups

Managing Groups

Managing groups is important because this will maintain the usability of your settings from term to term. Groups can also be updated and changed at any time. The Groups tool also has some management options within it. You should actively check your groups and settings to ensure that your groups are evenly distributed. You can also change or edit the groups from class to class.

The Manage Groups Page

Course participants access the Groups tool under Communication on the course navigation bar.

On the Manage Groups page, learners can do the following:

  • Click the Choose Group link beside an enrollment message to enrol in a new group.
  • Click on the number in the Members column to view the Member List for a group.
  • Click on an Assignment folder to view its contents.
  • Click on a Discussion topic to view its postings.
  • Click Email Group to email all members of a group.

Faculty members can: 

  • Edit group settings
  • View and edit group enrollment 
  • Create or delete groups or group categories 
  • Set up group-restricted workspaces 

Managing Group Settings

If you do not see the video, please click on the link to view it in a new window or tab:
Managing Group Settings

Modifying Groups or Adding Group Enrollments

  1. On the Manage Groups page, select the category you want to modify from the View Categories drop-down list.
  2. Click the arrow to the right of the Category to open its context menu and choose Enrol Users.
  3. Select the group you want from the Display drop-down list or select "All Groups" to see all groups.
  4. Enter information in the Search For field to find a specific user, or click the Search icon to find all users.
  5. Select the check boxes beside each user's name to add them to groups. Clear check boxes to un-enrol users from groups.
  6. Click Save.

Tip:  Select the Not Enrolled search option to find users that that do not belong to a group.

Deleting a User from a Group

  1. On the Manage Groups page, select the category containing the groups with users you want to delete from the View Categories drop-down list.
  2. Click the arrow to the right of the Category to open its context menu and choose Enrol Users.
  3. On the Enrol Users page, beside the user's name, clear the check box for each group you want to remove the user from.
  4. Click Save.

Editing Groups

  1. On the Manage Groups page, select the category you want to edit from the View Categories drop-down list.
  2. Click on the group or category you want to edit.
  3. Make your changes.
  4. Click Save.

Deleting Groups

  1. On the Manage Groups page, select the category that contains the groups you want to delete from the View Categories drop-down list.
  2. Select the check box beside each group you want to delete from the category, or select the check box beside the category to delete the category and all of it's groups.
  3. Click Delete.

What happens when you delete a group?

  • If you've selected Auto-Enrol New Users, users are automatically distributed in the remaining groups.
  • If groups are set up for manual enrollment, you must add users to the remaining groups using the Enrol Users page.
  • Group discussion forums remain available for reference. You can delete them in Discussions.
  • Group assignment folders and the files they contain are deleted.

What happens when you delete a category?

  • Users are no longer enrolled in groups because they do not exist.
  • Group discussion forums remain available for reference. You can delete them in Discussions.
  • Group Assignment Submission folders and the files they contain are deleted.

Editing Group Enrollment in Restricted Workspaces

  1. On the Manage Groups page, select the category that contains the discussion forum you want to edit from the View Categories drop-down list.
  2. Click on the Category to edit it.
  3. On the Edit Category page, click the Edit Discussion Restrictions link.
  4. Select the forum you want to make changes to in the Forum drop-down list or select "All Forums" to edit multiple forums at once.
  5. Select and clear the check boxes in the Edit Restrictions grid to modify group enrollment in discussion forums and topics.
  6. Select Automatically create restricted topics if you want to add topics to the forums.
  7. Click Save.

Enrollment Scenarios

Enrollment Scenario 1

You have a class of 185 users.

Your latest assignment requires users to use a software program that is only available in certain labs which must be booked and supervised. You book 4 labs that can hold 50 users each and create 4 corresponding groups.

You select group options as follows:

  • For the enrollment Type, you select # of Groups and set the Number of Groups to 4.
  • You leave both Auto-Enrol New Users and Randomize Users in Groups cleared because new users will not be joining your course and you are not worried about having an unbiased distribution of users, since group membership will not influence users’ grades.
  • You select Set up discussion areas and create discussion forums where users can post and answer questions about the computer software.
  • You leave Set up drop box folders cleared because you do not want users collaborating on their projects and you already have your assignments organized.

Enrollment Scenario 2

You have a class of 29 users.

Your latest assignment requires that users research a particular topic, write a report on it, and hold a seminar for the class. You know that you want users to work in groups of 5, but you want to give them some flexibility in choosing both who they work with and what topic they work on.

You select group options as follows:

  • For the Enrollment Type, you select Groups of # - Self Enrollment. You set the Number of Users per group to 5 and rename each of the 6 groups after the topic the group will work on.
  • You select Set up discussion areas and create discussion topics for each of the groups. You associate the topics with a grade item and tell users that you expect them to communicate with each other on their progress and concerns in the discussions topic for their group. They receive individual grades based on their participation.
  • You select Set up drop box folders and create separate Assignment Submission folders for each group's Research Notes, Report, and Seminar Notes. You associate the folders with grade items and assign the same grade to all members of the group.

Printable Instructions

VIULearn: Manage Groups

MENU
CLOSE X CIEL