There are many editing capabilities in the Course Content area. Students have a different view of the area then you do, because they do not have the ability to edit your course. It is a good idea to preview your course as a student to check that your course is displaying as intended.
The Role Switch Tool
This tool will allow a user to impersonate any role that you have security permission to access.
Using Role Switch
1. From any page within your VIULearn course, click your name on the mini bar.
2. On the drop down menu that appears, click View as Student. If you see "View as Instructor" instead, click Change to select the Student role.
3. You will now be able to view your course content as a learner would see it.
Note: VIULearn will treat you as a learner who is enrolled in all groups for the course. You will be able to see all group restricted topics and items.
4. When you are finished previewing your course, click your name on the mini bar again.
5. Click the x next to Viewing as Student to return to the Instructor view.
Course Content - Overview - Learner
While watching the video to the right - notice the differences between Instructor and Student View. This information will be useful when planning and building your course, as well as for the final assessment of this specific topic module. The video was created by Brightspace. Please feel free to share it with your students
The Preview option is available for many tools. Some of these are Quizzes, Surveys, and Rubrics. Preview functionality allows a user to view an activity as it would appear to another user. This tool has many of the same benefits as the Role Switch tool, but it lacks the ability to actually change your role. Instead you are given just a sample view of a single activity.
|Use Cases||Role Switch||Preview|
|Available in many locations in the Learning Environment||Yes||Yes|
|Many different roles/personas can be accessed||Yes||No|
|Little to no risk of violating another user’s privacy||Yes||Yes|
|Can be used to view an activity exactly the way it would be viewed by a user||Yes||Yes|
|Actions are not permanent (Temporary)||Yes||Yes|
|Group activities can be accessed||No||No|
|Can view Grades as they appear to a user||No||No|
|Can test Release Conditions||No||No|