VIU Campus

Manage Course Content

Once you have set up course modules and added course files, there are several ways you can adjust items in your course. You can rename and reorder existing modules and topics, replace uploaded files, and edit files created directly inside VIULearn to keep your course up to date. 

Re-Organize Content Files & Topics:

You can reorganize Content Files and Topics that you have uploaded to a module or sub-module by dragging and dropping them into their desired location.

  1. Select Content from the course navigation bar.

  2. Click on the Module or Sub-Module that contains the files and topics you would like to reorganize. 

  3. Click and hold the dotted icon to the left of the File/Topic you would like to move.

  4. Drag your mouse to the desired location you would like to place that File/Topic in. When the File/Topic can be replaced, you will see a blue line indicating that the File/Topic can be dropped in that location. If you are moving the File/Topic to another Module or Sub-Module by using the navigation sidebar, the Module or Sub-Module will highlight blue. Release your mouse button to place the file. 

Rename Content Modules and Topics

When you import files into VIULearn, you may want to adjust the title of these items to better reflect the file content for your students. You can rename modules, sub-modules, and topics at any time from the table of contents view of your course content.

  1. Click Content from the course navigation bar. 

  2. In the navigation sidebar, click on the name of the Module you want to rename.

  3. Click on the title of the module at the top of the page to edit the module name

  4. When you have finished making changes, click anywhere else on the page or press Enter on your keyboard to save your changes.

  1. Click Content from the course navigation bar. 

  2. In the navigation sidebar, click on the name of the Module where the File/Topic you want to rename is located.

  3. Click the downward arrow next to the name of the File/Topic you wish to rename. Select Edit Properties in place from the dropdown menu. 

  4. Click on the name of your File/Topic and make any necessary changes. 

  5. Click Enter on your keyboard or click outside of the input field provided to save your changes.

Downloading & Printing Files

Files uploaded into your VIULearn course can be downloaded by you or your students. There is currently no way to prevent students from downloading or printing content. If you or your students want to print a content item, we strongly recommend downloading the file first. Printing directly from the browser may result in strange formatting or in elements from the VIULearn interface being included in the printed copy that you didn't intend to print.

You can download individual topics or whole modules from the Content tool. You can also download all modules and topics in your course from the Table of Contents page in the Content tool. When you download more than one item at a time, your content will download as a zipped file.

  1. Click Content from the course navigation bar.
     
  2. Click into the module where your file is located.

  3. Click on the name of the file you wish to download.

  4. Click the Download button at the bottom of the page.

  5. Once the file has finished downloading, click and open the file on your device. You should then be able to print the file from your device.

Replacing Files

Once uploaded, your Word, PowerPoint, and other files cannot be edited in place. If you want to make changes to your file, you will need to make those changes to the copy of your file stored locally (e.g. on your computer hard drive or network drive) and then re-upload the file to VIULearn.

Once you have edited your file locally, you can easily replace that file in VIULearn by following these steps:

  1. Select Content from the course navigation bar. 

  2. Find and select the Module or Sub-Module that contains the File you wish to replace.

  3. Click the downward arrow next to the name of the File you wish to replace. Select Change File from the dropdown menu.

  4. Drag and drop the replacement file into the upload file or find and select the replacement file by clicking the Upload button.

  5. Click the Update button.

Delete Content Modules or Topics

When deleting content from VIULearn you will have two options: you can delete an item from Content but leave the files in your Manage Files area so you can continue to access them for future use if needed, or you can permanently delete the content item (this cannot be reversed). If you are deleting a module or sub-module, we recommend not choosing to permanently delete the module and its contents as this can often result in permanently losing content you did not intend to delete.

  1. Select Content from the course navigation bar. 

  2. Find and click on the Module or Sub-Module you would like to delete.

  3. Click the downward arrow next to the name of the Module or Sub-Module. Select Delete Module from the dropdown menu. 

  4. You will see a pop-up with two options. We recommend choosing the default option ( Remove the module and all nested modules and topics from Content but keep all associated files and activities in the course).
    • If you choose the second option ( Permanently delete and remove all nested modules, topics, and all associated files and activities from the course.) every file that is in the module will be permanently deleted (even if the file is also used elsewhere in the course) and this cannot be reversed.

  5. Once you have chosen your deletion preference, click the blue Delete button to confirm.
  1. Select Content from the course navigation bar. 

  2. Find and click on the Module or Sub-Module that contains the File/Topic you wish to delete.

  3. Click the downward arrow next to the name of the File/Topic you wish to delete. Select Delete Topic from the dropdown menu. 

  4. If you still want the associated file in your Manage Files area (For example: if you might want to use it again) use option number one, Remove the topic from Content but keep the associated file or activity in the course.

  5. If you are certain you are never going to need this file again, choose option two, Permanently delete both the topic from Content and the associate file or activity from the course. Doing so will permanently delete the file from VIULearn. 

  6. Once you have chosen your deletion preference, click the blue Delete button.